A Few Weeks In

Introduction

We’re a few weeks into the new year. That’s usually when people abandon their resolutions. Or do the saying goes. I’ve been keeping up with what I’ve set out to do, so far. Albeit, I'm definitely easing well into it. Looking back over the past few weeks, here’s what I’ve learned and what I haven’t quite figured out yet.

I have a lot of work to do to get to where I need to be in order to successfully find a position as a developer. Accounting for all the time I have available and being sure to spend that time responsibility has allowed me to get more and more of that work done in a reasonable time frame. I'm always learning more, mostly through getting stumped on something that I'm coding and not looking up a solution too soon.

What I Know

To Work On

The main things that I'm working on are a main large project, bringing up several smaller projects into being written in Typescript, leetcode problems, and reworking my portfolio. I do know those things are what I need to work on and get done as quick as I can while still creating quality work. I still need to take the time to network well so that I can find that position I'm looking for. There are a few other things I need to be sure to get right before I can do that, however.

Communication

I need to make sure that I can communicate my ideas well. Writing these sorts of posts and the blogs I've been and intend to keep writing will help me hone those skills more. Responding to tweets will help me with better building rapport with potential colleagues and people I can potentially engage and collaborate with. Connecting with others on linkedin and gaining followers on twitter will give me a way to learn about reaching out to others with what I know and learning from them. To do any of these things, I feel that I need to get into a healthier mindset and lifestyle.

Healthier Habits

I've been building healthier habits for a while now. However, that's also slow going. I've been ramping up my progress more lately. Eating a better diet in a more structured way really does seem to help with building better discipline towards my diet. Starting a, for right now at least, slow building regiment towards exercise is making me feel like I'm making real progress towards my health goals. I'm seeing real results in how I feel and what my doctor has told me regarding my health. But all the things I've mentioned before now will never happen if I don't myself and my work out there for others to see.

What I Don't

The biggest problem is to really just respond to people and talk about things that I’m interesting in or might never know if I’m interested in. I need to get more comfortable with responding to posts and comments on videos and the like. It seems like it can really spark a great conversation sometimes. The blogs that I write and the posts that I make are really for me to record my progress on my journey to becoming a developer. I would like to use these platforms to connect with others in the process, but if I just mostly talk to myself that's ok too. So, all in all, I need to get out of my head so much and just do some things and see where those things lead.

Conclusion

While I'm not sure about quite how to use social media, I figure I'll get a handle on it, and stumble along the way. I'll have to figure out what to post. And I'll have to figure out how to find people to reach out to or interact with. So, outside of recording my progress on here, I'll need to just do what I would do in the normal course of meeting and networking with people. I'll talk to people I come across about some timely matters and maybe have some interesting conversations. Some interactions won't lead anywhere and others will lead to greater things. And we'll all just have a good time doing it.